Travel

9D8N in Seoul- Part 2 (Day 2 Itinerary)

Day 2

                I started my 2nd day going back to the airport to pick up my rented wifi egg. You must be wondering why I took it the next day and not the same day I arrived to save money and time.  Yes, I know I wasted money and time but I don’t have any choice because when I booked it for rental, the next available day of pick up was this day. Also, I wasn’t able to book it early so it was my fault. I should have booked it at least 2 days prior my arrival. Nonetheless, I accomplished getting it from the arrival area 1st floor.

                My wifi egg was KT Olleh which was the cheapest wifi network rental I got. It costs me only Php 1,097 (KRW 23,200 or $ 21.94) for 8 days. I got this price from the app “Klook”

klook

Note:

                Klook is a very good app/site where you can purchase discounted perks for your trip such as admission tickets to theme parks, tourist spots, transportation, wifi egg, sim, tour set and etc. Almost all of my admission tickets were purchased from this. One should have a mastercard, visa debit/credit card to book from here. This app is available on android and ios, just download it from your app store. Otherwise,, you can just go to www.klook.com

                Afterwards, I quickly moved to my first destination, Digital Media City. Since Digital Media city is just along the way of the ktx airport railroad, going back from the airport is worry-less. It took me 32 mins to arrived there. Then I walked for about 5-10 minutes and saw the large screen of SBS Prism Tower where Running Man usually shot their episodes.

DSCF0365

DSCF0366

DSCF0368
Giant Screen of SBS Building

DSCF0369

                This place is usually out of the normal tourist destination. I saw more employees than tourists at this part. Of course, this place was the broadcasting companies’ location. And tourist coming here are more aware of this place when you are fond of Korean shows like me.

DSCF0370

DSCF0372
MBC Building

                I took a short break before continuing to take my lunch. It’s my first time to try the triangle kimbap and their sausage, and its honestly delicious.

The main reason I included Digital Media City in my destination is because of MBC’s  “Star Park” where I could find the hand print of the Korean stars especially Lee Seung Gi.

DSCF0374

DSCF0379
Handprint of Lee Seung Gi

                As I mentioned in my previous blog, this is a dual purpose trip. Hehe. Nonetheless, even if you are not fan of anyone and would like to see what and how are entertainment and media of Korea better go here because it still a worth of place to go. This place is a peaceful place, and you might not know who you could bump in the Korean entertainment business.

                          Another main attraction in this place is the MBC World. It is a place where you could see all of tv network’s MBC past and current shows that remarked to the viewers. Each TV shows have an activity to do.

DSCF0409

                           MBC World is divided into three tours situated in two buildings. The first tour (Tour A) is all about entertainment shows. They got We Got Married, My Little Television, I live Alone, Mask Singer and K-entertainment. Each section has something to do. You could take photo with a celebrity and take a recording of a song inside their studio room. As a Korean show fan I am aware of this shows but unfortunately I don’t watch them all and not fond of those artists. Hehe.

DSCF0384
Building A of MBC World
DSCF0386
My Little Television

DSCF0387

20171206_140627
Recording Studio
DSCF0391
I Live Alone

DSCF0393

DSCF0397
Section TV

                At the end of tour A, there is STAR Street where you could take photo with the famous Kpop Boy group, Bigbang.

DSCF0398
Star Street with Bigbang

 Note:

                MBC World admission ticket costs KRW 18,000 (Php 835 or $ 16.70) but you can get discounted rate using Klook (KRW 16,000) or other sites.

                The next tour is situated on the next building where I purchased my admission ticket. For Tour B, its quite fast tour because its just a small studio where you could take photos of each MBC show. There were Jumong, W, Coffee Prince, Infinite Challenge, Radio Star, King of Mask Singer and more.

                This part of tour was a disadvantage to me as a solo traveler during that time. When I went there, I’m the only one touring inside that part and no one is there to help me take photos. So I just did what I can do best to take picture. This tour is a great place to take pictures if you have someone to take photo for you.

20171206_142330
Coffee Prince
20171206_142424
Jumong
20171206_142836
I Am a Singer
DSCF0405
Moon Embracing the Sun
DSCF0406
MBC Radio Star
DSCF0407
Infinite Challenge

                  I was able to finish touring this for like five minutes only. Hahaha.

                The last tour which is Tour C is just on the same building you just need to walk for a minute.

                 More entertainment activities here.

DSCF0415
MBC building digital sketches

DSCF0423

DSCF0426
A personalized video autograph from Lee Joon Gi.
DSCF0428
Dance experience with girl groups

                The hologram concert was the most exciting part of this tour. Even I’m not a Bigbang fan, I enjoyed the hologram concert as if I’m really watching a real concert. Bigbang fans must not skip this tour.

DSCF0417
sorry for low quality but if you could watch them it is daebak!

                 My last stop for this tour is the historical drama section of MBC. I got the chance to see the old items used since before. There is an assistant there wearing a hanbok (traditional clothing) as well. He told me that I can rent a hanbok and tried it but its quite expensive. He actually not recommended it since its just for a short while and moreover, there are lots of other places to try Hanbok for a longer period.

Note:

                Hanbok is the traditional clothing of Koreans.

DSCF0429

Thanks to the staff there, I got decent photos.

DSCF0431

DSCF0434

DSCF0438

DSCF0439

DSCF0442

DSCF0448

DSCF0452

DSCF0453

DSCF0455

               At the end of this tour, there is a corner with glass where tourist could see the MBC radio star studio. Unfortunately, at the time I was there they are still preparing for the shooting and no celebrities where there. Taking picture is prohibited.

             After a satisfying MBC World tour, I moved to my next destination which was Ewha Women University. From DMC station it took 20 minutes to arrive at Ewha Station. Then just need to walk for about five minute to reach the welcome center where I took my campus map for free tour.

DSCF0457

                  I only have less than an hour to walk around the campus because there is a schedule for two museums which was only until 5pm. Knowing the lack of time, I decided to skip the two museums and do a de tour of the map and walk freely to the allowed zone. The most popular place in this university is the Ewha Campus Complex and its castle like building.

DSCF0464
Ewha Campus Complex

DSCF0460

DSCF0459
Welch-Ryang Auditorium
DSCF0463
Pfeiffer Hall (Main Hall)

I get awed to this university because of its wizard ambiance. It is really beautiful and clean.

DSCF0467
Appenzeller Hall

DSCF0468

DSCF0469

DSCF0470

DSCF0471

DSCF0472

DSCF0475
Welch-Ryang Auditorium

                      And before finishing my walk, surprisingly my first snowfall happened here. It was so lovely and one of my happiest moment.

DSCF0480

DSCF0482


Extra

Cecica Hair Salon Experience

cecica-hair
photo by hwajangblog.wordpress.com

                After my wonderful experience of snow in Ewha, I went to Cecica Hair Salon which situated nearby. Cecica Hair Salon is a Singaporean salon with branch here in Korea. Most of their customers were Singaporean so the staff asked me if I’m Singaporean but I told her I’m a Filipino.

                Researching for the best salon which can do a magic setting for my hair and with the ability to understand English, I found Cecica Hair Salon. It got good reviews and the prices were average.

                I’ve always wanted my hair to be wavy permed since I always have my hair straightened. Just to make a change, I bravely tried magic setting for the first time and done it outside my country.

                When I enter the salon, the owner comes to me and asked for the service I want. I told them perming and she asked me to sit for a little consultation of what is the best to do with my hair. She got their catalog for hairstyles and showed me the service they will be doing to me. We both agreed and then showed me the price. Since it is a package including of hair cut, half straight, half perm with treatment it cost me KRW 207,000 (Php 9,606 or $192). This price is for medium-length hair.

                The service is very good. They provided snacks and drinks while I’m waiting to finish the procedure. It took them for about less than 3 hours. The teamwork is also nice.

DSCF0485
Final touch up photo with Designer Da Mi

               I hope my magic setting would last longer because they made a very good output.

                If you want to know more about the services they provide and book for your appointment kindly see the below details.

Address:  37-22 Daehyeon-dong, Seodaemun-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Tel: +82 2-313-8956   /
 Email: kikam21@hanmail.net

                    I would like to thank the whole team for a satisfied magic setting service.

               After pampering time, I shopped for a coat. Ewha Street is known for fashionable clothing. I bought one for KRW 75,000 (Php 3,517 or $70.34).

Leave a comment